Utah’s impaired-driving law is pretty straightforward.
The DUI laws that govern driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs are the same in all cities across the state of Utah including Cedar City, Beaver, Parowan, Paragonah, Panguitch, St. George, Brian Head, Hurricane, and Kanab. Any individual found to be operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more is considered to be driving impaired and will likely be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
If you are cited in Southern Utah, CONTACT US immediately for a no-obligation case review: (435) 238-7734.
How Much Does a First Offense DUI Cost?
The DUI laws that govern driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is the same in all cities across the state of Utah including Cedar City, Beaver, Parowan, St. George, Brian Head, Hurricane, and Kanab. Any individual found to be operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more is considered to be driving impaired and will likely be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Should individuals be convicted of this crime, they likely face penalties that include a driver’s license suspension, monetary fines, possible jail time, and having to use an IID (Ignition Interlock Device) on any car a convicted person drives.
IF YOU ARE CITED, CONTACT US IMMEDIATELY FOR A NO-OBLIGATION CASE REVIEW: (435) 238-7734.
All included, the cost of a first DUI can easily get well into the thousands. First DUIs involving a high blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or an accident can end up costing more than other first offenses.
A recent survey reported that the average overall cost was $6,500. Included in this average, are those who were found not guilty or whose charges were ultimately dismissed. And this average doesn’t account for lost income, though a quarter of the respondents reported an average of $4,400 in lost wages.
There are lots of costs that contribute to the total for a first-offense DUI.
- Attorney’s fees.On average, you can expect to pay $1,900 in attorney fees and expenses. This average includes those who used public defenders rather than retaining private legal counsel.
- Court-ordered fines. The average spent on court fees and fines is $1,100. Of course, if you aren’t convicted of a DUI you probably won’t pay much, if anything, in this category.
- Car insurance increases. Most insurance companies will hike your rates if you get a DUI. The survey reported an average of $800 per year in increased car insurance premiums.
- Traffic school and substance abuse education courses.As part of sentencing or license reinstatement requirements, drivers often must do traffic school or substance abuse education. Survey respondents paid $360 for these types of courses.
- Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) fees. Oftentimes, a DUI arrest has consequences related to the driver’s license and vehicle registration. And there are usually DMV fees associated with these consequences. For instance, when the DMV suspends a driver’s license, there’s typically a reinstatement fee. You can expect to pay an average of $260 in DMV fees.
- Ignition interlock devices (IIDs). First offenders may be required to install IIDson their vehicles. Most of the time, the defendant has to foot the bill for installation of and maintaining the device. Installing and maintaining an IID can cost hundreds of dollars.
- Towing and storage.If you’re arrested for a DUI and you don’t have a sober passenger who can safely drive your car home, chances are it’ll be towed. Expect to pay an average of $170 in towing and storage fees.
- Bail. If you get arrested for a DUI and put in jail, you will likely want to get out as soon as possible. The average cost to bailout of jail is $150.
If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Utah, THE LAST THING YOU WANT TO DO IS WAIT TO HIRE AN ATTORNEY. Utah law is very strict on when driving privleges may be suspended. That’s why it’s important to hit the ground running in order to best protect your quality of life.
WE’LL GO THE EXTRA MILE TO DEFEND YOU AND PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS IN IRON COUNTY, BEAVER COUNTY, KANE COUNTY, GARFIELD COUNTY OR WASHINGTON COUNTY.
Call M.A. MUNSON LAW today (435) 238-7734 for a FREE case reveiw and AFFORDABLE DUI representation.